The Daily Grapefruit

I have a cousin who married someone really amazing. She loves all things french, all things food and especially all things family. They are raising 4 scrumptious kids…which I hope my turn out like…exactly. Her blog is an inspiration. She talks about NORMAL stuff and when you read it it sounds like magic. Her love of food and of being a Mother constantly inspires me to stretch my creativity and to GIVE more.

Almost a year ago, she wanted to help me celebrate my new website launching and custom made me a menu. Finally a year later after passing through all sorts of weird pregnant food aversions, I made the meal. There was some substitutions based on what I had and how long I could stand in the kitchen before needing to de-swell my feet. But her menu helped us celebrate a dinner at home with “just the two of us” and Grant’s birthday this week.

Bruschetta with fig/balsamic jam, green apple slices and melted gruyere

Fresh mixed green salad from this weeks CSA box from The Growing Experience

Roasted thyme and lemon chicken (made in our new Le Creuset french oven that we just treated ourselves with)

Sauteed corn with lemon and thyme (recipe on Grapefruit’s blog. YUM)

Mashed potatoes with carrots

I’m always cooking at night and photo was taken on my iphone and I didn’t truss the chicken AND…blah…blah…blah… You know what? It tasted good.

I ran out of steam last night but tonight for husbands dinner dessert I am making him pavlova with kiwi.

Thanks Grapefruit for your fantastic recipes and nourishing blog.

I am off to count the hours. xo.

5 thoughts on “The Daily Grapefruit

  1. Here’s hoping your back didn’t break over this meal. I know what it feels like to stand in the kitchen for hours with a prego belly. Serious pain at the end of the night. But hopefully the food was worth it!

    Thanks for your kind words. I’m really glad I inherited such cool cousins from my huz!

    Good luck in the next few weeks. Can’t wait to see pictures of your beautiful girl and hear all those gushing thoughts of unexpected love that I know you will be dying to share!

    Like

  2. Happy Bday Grant!
    Looks like a lovely meal. You + Grapefruit are pure bliss. Love both of you!

    can’t wait to hear about baby girls birth.

    Like

  3. Happy Bday Grant!
    This meal looks delicious.
    You + Grapefruit is pure bliss
    Love you both!

    Can’t wait to hear about baby girls arrival!

    Like

  4. Seriously?! I am jealous of your talent…this looks SOOO good! Maybe I need to try to attempt. Been thinking about you every single day and checking to make sure that she is not already here. She is going to be amazing. Love You, Wishing you Luck in the coming week. Excited beyond words for you. xoxo

    Like

Leave a Reply

